Big News for Brumwell Town

Sometimes I get caught up in wondering what type of stuff I should blog about. Should I keep it more dedicated to highlighting the fun photo shoots? Should I post more personal documentary/flashback stuff about Xav and I and life? Should I post deep thoughts or opinions? So many questions often make me hesitate before pressing publish, which is why my draft list is growing while my posting consistency isn’t. But there is one topic that I’m so excited to finally talk about regardless of my incessant self-questioning.

EJB_0203.jpg

 

You’re the sky that I fell through
And I remember the view whenever I’m holding you
The sun hung from a string
Looking down on the world as it warmed over everything
Chills run down my spine as our fingers intwine
And your sighs harmonize with mine
Unmistakably I can still feel your heart
Beat fast when you dance with me

Circle me and the needle moves gracefully
Back and forth, if my heart was a compass you’d be North
Risk it all cause I’ll catch you if you fall
Wherever you go, if my heart was a house you’d be home

If My Heart Was a House

Just over ten months ago Xav and I danced to that song as we were surrounded by friends and family. I moved from my parent’s house to the apartment where Xav had been living and suddenly that tiny space became home. It took a little while for the drive to become normal and for the surroundings to feel like home, but around Christmas time it really began to feel like home. I told Xavier in the beginning that I would go wherever he goes and that with him will always be home. With Xavier deciding to go back to school this fall (to get his PhD from MSU in Computational Mathematics Science and Engineering), we found ourselves unsure of where to live for the next five years. We knew we wanted to be closer to campus and that we would love to have a place to host friends and family but we weren’t sure if we would be able to find a good little starter home. Well, today “home” stopped being our first apartment. We are moving into a house in about 10 days and since the apartment lease was done at the end of this month, we moved today for the first phase and are staying with my parents while we wait. This whole process has been a blur of paperwork, waiting, excitement, packing, more paperwork and more waiting… but we are nearing the end! It’s interesting to see all of our earthly possessions in boxes and bags, but it truly helps me to remember that we are just making stops along the way to eternity. No home will be perfect or the reality to every dream, but I am so thankful that God provided for us to have a place of sojourning for now. I’m also overwhelmed by the help we have received from our families and our friends. Their support and encouragement means so much to us.

We will be the Brumwells of Magnolia Avenue before too long

3 thoughts on “Big News for Brumwell Town

  1. Emily, you have the gift of writing from your Mom. So happy for your “new home” news. Congratulations. Good luck to Xavier with his studies this fall. God bless you both and your home. xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

